VIN/Odometer Verification Process
When applying for a Florida title for the first time on a used motor vehicle, Florida law requires the owner to sign a sworn statement that the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the odometer reading on the vehicle are correct.
You have 30 days to register and title your vehicle with your local DHSMV once you:
Begin working in the state
Register your children for a Florida school
Establish FL residency through rental, lease, or purchase of an apartment or house
You will be required to title your car or truck in the state of Florida at the same time as you register it. You can title the vehicle without registering it, but it will be illegal to drive the vehicle if it is not registered.
The above is from https://www.dmv.org
Used vehicles with out-of-state titles must have a VIN number inspection in Florida whenever the owner needs to title or register them in the state. Note: I’ve heard people refer to it as a Florida VIN Check; it’s the same thing. Along with the VIN inspection, owners must complete an application for Vehicle Identification Number and Odometer Verification.
Some owners either don’t have tags on the vehicle, in the case of an antique, or may have a vehicle that they’ve recently resurrected from storage, and are unable to legally drive the vehicle to have it verified.
VIN Verification Forms
Official Forms from Florida Dept. of Motor Vehicles
There are two (2) forms for VIN verification used by Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
The HSMV 82042 is known as Vehicle Identification Number And Odometer Verification: https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82042.pdf
The HSMV 82040 is known as “Application For Certificate Of Title With/Without Registration” https://www.flhsmv.gov/pdf/forms/82040.pdf
When you schedule us to perform a VIN verification for you, it’s best to use the fillable online PDF to enter the basic information before printing the document. Vehicle Identification Number, Year, Make, Color, Body, Previous State Vehicle Titled In. This will ensure that the information is correct and legible. You can take this information from the title.
If you don’t have access to a printer, we can print your forms – $5 per form.